The community now known as Snoqualmie UMC began in the shade of a large maple tree in the summer of 1889. Snoqualmie was a young town abuzz with pioneers and a vibrant hop-growing trade at the time. Like people of every era and place they hungered for more than commercial success, and found God's companioning and direction in part through church.
Gathering by the river in the shelter of that maple tree, a Sunday School took root. By late September worship services began. On Saturdays a horseback preacher named Mr. Curtis rode through the area inviting field workers and all to Sunday's outdoor worship. When harsh weather set in, the gatherings moved to a tent. Construction of a church building began in 1892. The integrity and generosity of local merchant Edmund Kinsey helped the early church community and building take shape. By 1889 the original Methodist Circuit Rider in our area - Preacher Andrew MacNamara, aka Brother Mac - was again serving in Snoqualmie Valley.
The church building has endured fire, minor flooding, and periods of both growth and decline. Today the bell that started ringing in 1898 still calls townspeople to worship every Sunday. On various occasions it peels in celebration of God's active presence in our midst - within and beyond church walls. The United Methodist movement is all about growing in Grace…fashioned by God's revealing in scripture, tradition, reason and experience…practiced in community…. and poured out in love and service.
For more about Snoqualmie UMC's history, check out this article in the Valley Record.To learn more about Snoqualmie Valley's rich past, visit the Snoqualmie Valley Historical Museum on facebook.
Phone: (425) 888-1697 Address: 38701 SE River Street, Snoqualmie, WA 98065 (map) Mail: PO Box 458, Snoqualmie, WA 98065